To promote the ACLPS objectives, the following awards are given annually:

The Cotlove Lectureship

Dr. Cotlove’s career exemplified the progress seen in medical research and technology. This award is presented to a scientist (member or non-member of the academy) for outstanding contributions to the science of laboratory medicine. See award description.

The Gerald T. Evans Award

Even though Dr. Evans retired prior to the creation of ACLPS, his influence has been keenly felt. This award is presented annually to a member for outstanding leadership and/or service to the society. See award description.

The Ellis Benson Award

Ellis Benson was instrumental in promoting research, service, and teaching in the field of laboratory medicine. This award is presented to a young faculty member in recognition of meritorious accomplishment in the field of laboratory medicine. See award description and Dr. Benson's bio.

Paul E. Strandjord Young Investigator Award Program

This program is designed to encourage young investigators to consider a career in academic laboratory medicine. Residents, fellows, and students in a doctorial program in health sciences, participating in research with a member of ACLPS, or sponsored by an ACLPS member are eligible. Students in programs leading to nondoctoral degrees conducting research with an ACLPS member may be considered upon written request from the ACLPS sponsor to the director of the Young Investigator Awards Program.